PROJECTS

WHY DO WE PLANT TREES ?

We love açaí! But not only because it is healthy and tastes incredibly good. Palm trees are one of the best ways to protect the climate. Correctly read! That's why we donate 5 cents per product to the Brazilian NGOs IPAM and Iniciativa Verde and support projects that reforest the rainforest.

According to scientists, reforestation is one of the most effective ways of reducing carbon in the atmosphere. In Brazil alone, a total of 49.7 million hectares are available for this purpose - where our miracle berry is also at home.

In addition, trees significantly improve water and soil quality in the surrounding areas. There is no time to lose in combating climate change: It takes decades for forests to mature and exploit their potential as natural CO2 reservoirs. Nevertheless, we know that it is worth it. "If we act now, we could reduce the CO2 content in the atmosphere by 25 percent. The last time such quantities were recorded was almost a century ago," says Tom Crowther, a researcher at ETH Zurich and lead author of the renowned reforestation study of our time.

WHAT IS THE CHALLENGE ?

Brazil's export-oriented agriculture requires more and more land, which is why huge forests are being destroyed in the rainforest and Cerrado savannah in southeastern Brazil. The cleared areas are mostly used first as pasture land, and then soya is grown on them. Many plots of land in Brazil are privately owned and used for agriculture. It is important to understand that the vast majority of fires that are set in the Amazon are not aimed at destroying the forest. The farmers are forced to burn down their land because they lack machinery and fertilizers and they have to make a living in some way. Most of them earn most of their money with the agricultural industry. On our trips through the Amazon we have seen the devastating dimensions with our own eyes: In 2019 alone, nearly four times more forest was cleared in the Amazon than in previous years.

OUR SUCCESS

We are proud of the successes of our young company history: in close cooperation with the Brazilian NGOs IPAM and Iniciativa Verde, we have already planted over 2 million trees since 2016 and saved over six million trees from being felled. As one of the most renowned independent organizations, IPAM has been committed to the sustainable reforestation of the Amazon since 1995 by acting directly on the political, scientific and human levels in the Amazon. Our mission is the same: We will only protect the Amazon if we also ensure the financial existence of the people. For this we must change our thinking!

One billion trees can stop climate change. Maybe you're wondering, do we have that much room? "Yes, we do! "In the São Paulo region of Brazil alone, there is a mountain range called Mantiqueira with an estimated area of one million hectares. Here alone, half the world's population could plant a tree, our IPAM partners know.

WHAT IS THE KEY TO COOPERATION?

Simply planting trees without considering the economic relevance of the yield would, however, drive many families into financial ruin. "Our aim is to create a new mindset among farmers," says Lucas Pereira, geologist and head of IPAM. An important part of our project is to educate local farmers. We show the locals the powerful benefits of an intact forest: By cultivating local fruits such as cocoa or acai, they ensure a stable and sustainable income in the long term, which naturally protects their environment. Contrary to the agricultural economy, no areas have to be cleared. The water quality improves, the soil becomes more fertile and nature flourishes. In addition to modern, agricultural practices, the need for strict protection of the rainforest is therefore also at stake.

With the money we donate, we finance a project duration of two years: that's how long it takes to ensure that the seedlings thrive and that the farmers are able to continue their own business from then on. Only if they switch to plant-based, fully fledged forestry in the long term can they make a significant contribution to climate protection. By 2021, our goal is to support 100 families with cultivation and reforestation.

At The Rainforest Company, it's important for us to stay in close contact with the farmers. We want to understand what their needs are and where we can really support them. At regular intervals we visit the projects on site to see what positive influence our work can have on people's lives - but also to learn about the challenges the farmers face.

Ivan is part of our NGO project and feels the danger first hand: "We are increasingly running out of water and the region is becoming drier and drier. "My neighbors and I are very worried about the future of our sons," Ivan says. "Deforestation threatens our region. The water quality is getting worse and the surrounding area is becoming dry. Therefore, we are very grateful for the support of IPAM, Iniciativa Verde and The Rainforest Company." With our help he will learn more about sustainable forestry.

"The rainforest is everything to me. It gives me and my family fresh air and enables us to live a better life," says our NGO farmer Mathias. With his small family and his animals he lives near Altamira, a community in the Brazilian state of Pará. "At first I didn't know how to grow seedlings properly. During the project, experts showed me how to do it. In the meantime I planted 500 acai and about 1000 cocoa seedlings and was able to expand my business in a sustainable way. Thanks to our project with IPAM and Iniciativa Verde he gets technical assistance. "I've never had government support before." Today he knows, "My job is very important, and not just financially. By taking care of nature and the environment, I'm also a role model to my neighbors."

"With the help of the project I have been able to expand my business by 100 percent," says Abrao.

"Our situation has improved considerably. We have jobs, we're free. I want all my daughters to go to school." Even the situation of women has improved. Abrao's wife even plans to get a driver's license - to be more independent.

PROJEKTE

WARUM PFLANZEN WIR BÄUME ? 

Wir lieben Açaí! Doch nicht nur weil es gesund ist und unglaublich gut schmeckt. Die Palmen sind mit der beste Weg, um das Klima zu schützen. Richtig gelesen! Wir spenden 5 Cent pro Produkt deshalb an die brasilianischen NGOs IPAM und Iniciativa Verde und unterstützen Projekte, die sich um die Wiederaufforstung des Regenwaldes kümmern.

Flächen zu bewalden ist Wissenschaftlern zufolge eines der wirksamsten Mittel, um Kohlenstoff in der Atmosphäre zu reduzieren. Allein in Brasilien stehen insgesamt 49, 7 Millionen Hektar hierfür bereit - dort wo auch unsere Wunderbeere zu Hause ist.

Darüber hinaus verbessern Bäume die Wasser- und Bodenqualität in den umliegenden Gebieten erheblich. Um den Klimawandel zu bekämpfen, dürfen wir keine Zeit verlieren: Es dauert Jahrzehnte, bis die Wälder reifen und Potenzial als natürlich CO2 Speicher ausschöpfen. Dennoch wissen wir: es lohnt sich. „Wenn wir jetzt handeln, könnten wir den CO2-Gehalt in der Atmosphäre um 25 Prozent verringern. Solche Mengen gab es zuletzt vor fast einem Jahrhundert“, sagt Tom Crowther, ein Forscher der ETH Zürich und Hauptautor der renommierten Aufforstungs-Studie unser Zeit.

WAS IST DIE HERAUSFORDERUNG ? 

Brasiliens exportorientierte Landwirtschaft benötigt immer neue Flächen, weshalb im Regenwald und in der Cerrado-Savanne im Südosten Brasiliens riesige Wälder vernichtet werden. Die gerodeten Flächen werden meistens zunächst als Weideland genutzt, anschließend wird auf ihnen Soja angebaut. Viele Grundstücke in Brasilien sind in Privatbesitz und werden für die Landwirtschaft genutzt. Es ist wichtig zu verstehen, dass die weitaus meisten Feuer, die im Amazonas gelegt werden, nicht die Zerstörung des Waldes zum Ziel haben. Die Bauern sind gezwungen ihre Grundstücke abzubrennen, weil es ihnen an Maschinen und Düngemitteln fehlt und sie auf irgendeine Art und Weise ihren Lebensunterhalt bestreiten müssen. Die meisten von ihnen verdienen ihr Geld zum größten Teil mit der Agrarindustrie. Auf unseren Reisen durch den Amazonas haben wir die verheerenden Ausmaße mit eigenen Augen gesehen: Allein im Jahr 2019 wurde am Amazonas fast viermal mehr Waldfläche gerodet als in den Jahren zuvor.

UNSERE ERFOLGE

Auf die Erfolge unserer jungen Unternehmensgeschichte sind wir stolz: in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den brasilianischen NGOs IPAM und Iniciativa Verde haben wir seit 2016 bereits über 2 Millionen Bäume gepflanzt und über sechs Millionen Bäume vor dem Abholzen gerettet. Als eine der renommiertesten unabhängigen Organisationen setzt sich IPAM bereits seit 1995 für die nachhaltige Wiederaufforstung des Amazonas ein, indem sie auf politischer, wissenschaftlicher Ebene und bei den Menschen im Amazonas direkt agieren. Unsere Mission ist die gleiche: Wir schützen den Amazonas nur, wenn wir zugleich die finanzielle Existenz der Menschen nur sicherstellen. Dafür müssen wir umdenken!

Eine Milliarde Bäume können den Klimawandel stoppen. Vielleicht fragt ihr euch gerade: haben wir überhaupt so viel Patz? “Ja, den haben wir! “Allein in der Region um São Paulo in Brasilien, steht eine Bergkette namens Mantiqueira mit einer geschätzten Fläche von einer Million Hektar. Hier allein könnte die Hälfte der Weltbevölkerung einen Baum pflanzen, wissen unsere Partner von IPAM. 

WORAUF KOMMT ES BEI DER ZUSAMMENARBEIT AN ?

Einfach Bäume pflanzen, ohne dabei die wirtschaftliche Relevanz des Ertrags zu berücksichtigen, würde viele Familien allerdings in den finanziellen Ruin treiben. “Unser Ziel ist es, einen neuen Mindset unter den Bauern zu schaffen”, sagt Lucas Pereira, Geologe und Leiter von IPAM. Ein wichtiger Teil unseres Projekt besteht in der Aufklärung der Bauern vor Ort. Wir zeigen den Einheimischen, welche schlagkräftigen Vorteile ein intakter Wald für sie bietet: Mit dem Anbau heimischer Früchte wie Kakao oder Acai sichern sie langfristig ein stabiles und zukunftsfähiges Einkommen, das auf natürlichem Wege ihre Umgebung schützt. Entgegen der Agrarwirtschaft müssen keine Flächen gerodet werden. Die Wasserqualität verbessert sich, die Böden werden fruchtbarer, die Natur floriert. Neben modernen, landwirtschaftliche Praktiken geht es deshalb auch um Notwendigkeit strenger Schutzvorschriften des Regenwaldes. 

Mit dem Geld, das wir spenden, finanzieren wir eine Projektlaufzeit von zwei Jahren: solang braucht es, um sicherzustellen, dass die Sämlinge gedeihen und die Farmer von da an selbst in der Lage sind, ihr Geschäft fortzusetzen. Nur wenn sie langfristig auf pflanzlich, vollwertige Forstwirtschaft umsteigen, können sie einen maßgeblichen Einfluss zum Klimaschutz beitragen. Bis zum Jahr 2021 ist unser Ziel, 100 Familien mit dem Anbau und Aufforstung zu unterstützen.

Bei The Rainforest Company ist uns wichtig, mit den Bauern eng in Kontakt zu stehen. Wir wollen verstehen, was ihre Bedürfnisse sind und wo wir sie wirklich unterstützen können. In regelmäßigen Abständen besuchen wir die Projekte vor Ort,  welchen positiven Einfluss unsere Arbeit auf das Leben der Menschen haben kann - erfahren aber auch, vor welchen Herausforderungen die Farmer stehen.

Ivan ist Teil unserer NGO-Projektes und spürt die Gefahr am eigenen Leib: „Uns geht das Wasser zunehmend aus und die Region wird immer trockener.“ “Meine Nachbarn und ich machen uns große Sorgen, um die Zukunft unserer Söhne”, sagt Ivan. “Abholzung bedroht unserer Region. Die Wasserqualität verschlechtert sich zusehends und die Umgebung wird trocken. Deshalb sind wir sehr dankbar für die Unterstützung von IPAM, Iniciativa Verde und The Rainforest Company.” Mit unserer Hilfe lernt er mehr über nachhaltige Forstwirtschaft.

“Der Regenwald ist alles für mich. Er schenkt mir und meiner Familie frische Luft und ermöglicht uns ein besseres Leben”, sagt unser NGO-Farmer Mathias. Mit seiner kleinen Familie und seinen Tieren lebt er in der Nähe von Altamira, eine Gemeinde im brasilianischen Bundesstaat Pará. „Ich wusste zunächst nicht, wie ich Sämlinge richtig anbaue. Im Rahmen des Projekts zeigten mir Experten, wie es geht. Inzwischen pflanzte ich 500 Acai und circa 1000 Kakao Sämlinge und konnte mein Business auf nachhaltige Art und Weise ausbauen. Dank unseres Projekts mit IPAM und Iniciativa Verde bekommt er technische Assistenz. “Unterstützung von der Regierung habe ich noch nie bekommen.” Heute weiß er: “Mein Job ist sehr wichtig - und nicht nur aus finanzieller Sicht. Indem ich mich um die Natur und die Umwelt kümmere, bin ich auch ein Vorbild für meine Nachbarn.”

“Mit Hilfe des Projekts konnte ich mein Geschäft um 100 Prozent ausbauen”, sagt Abrao. 

“Unsere Situation hat sich deutlich verbessert. Wir haben Jobs, wir sind frei. Ich will, dass alle meine Töchter zur Schule gehen.” Selbst die Situationen der Frauen haben sich verbessert. Abraos Frau plant sogar, einen Führerschein zu machen - um noch unabhängiger zu sein.